Skip to content

Administrative Order No. 344

I, Mike Dunleavy, Governor of the State of Alaska, under the authority of Article III, Sections 1 and 24 of the Alaska Constitution, and in accordance with AS 44.19.145(c), hereby order the establishment of the Alaska Energy Security Task Force (“Task Force”).


On September 30th, 2022, Governor Dunleavy established the Office of Energy Innovation to provide a central point of focus for Alaska’s efforts to reduce the cost of energy for residents. Alaskans suffer from exorbitantly high energy costs, restricted energy supply, and limited opportunities to drive down energy costs to consumers. Consequently, energy security and affordability are critical to Alaska’s prosperity going forward. The Task Force will provide recommendations on overall energy policy for the State of Alaska, as well as strategies and tactics to achieve its goal of reducing the cost of energy to Alaska residents.


The purpose of the Task Force is to develop a comprehensive statewide energy plan that will evaluate energy generation, distribution, and transmission for the State of Alaska and its communities. The development of this plan will include collaboration with public and private stakeholders. The statewide energy plan, including proposed timelines and milestones, will be presented to the governor upon completion.


The Alaska Energy Security Task Force will consist of thirteen voting members and five ex officio members appointed by, and serving at the pleasure of, the governor. The governor shall select two co-chairs from the voting members.

The voting members are as follows:

• The Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Conservation, or the Commissioner’s designee.
• The Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources, or the Commissioner’s designee.
• The Executive Director of the Alaska Energy Authority, or the Executive Director’s designee.
• One member from the University of Alaska with a background in energy.
• One member from a utility that represents rural Alaska or a community receiving power cost equalization.
• One member who represents a city, borough, or municipality.
• One member with a Railbelt utility background.
• One member from the oil and gas industry.
• One member from the mining industry.
• One member with a background in economic development.
• One member from the business community.
• One member from any segment of the Alaskan energy industry.
• One member of the general public.

The five ex officio members are as follows:

• One member from the Regulatory Commission of Alaska.
• One representative from the Denali Commission.
• One representative from the U.S. Department of Energy, Arctic Energy Office.
• One member of the Alaska State Senate, appointed by the Senate President, and one member of the Alaska House of Representatives, appointed by the Speaker of the House.


The Task Force plan shall include the following:

• Establish a baseline energy portfolio for the State of Alaska.
• Identify and evaluate potential future changes that could occur to energy supply and distribution in the state; the impacts of such changes; and the opportunity for mitigating impacts and leveraging opportunities associated with such change.
• Identify solutions for meeting Alaska’s energy needs now and in the future with a focus on affordability, reliability and security.
• Identify policies, programs, regulatory changes, and funding that could accelerate adoption of these energy strategies.
• Develop and maintain a public database of taskforce information and recommend strategies for sharing energy data and information through an energy data portal.
• Recommend a statewide energy goal, a plan to achieve it, and identify additional work that may be required to refine this vision.

The Task Force shall deliver an initial report to the Governor by May 19, 2023. Once the report is received, further clarification and deliverables may be identified that would require additional work by the Task Force.

The co-chairs of the Task Force shall report regularly to the Office of the Governor on activities conducted and issues that arise under this Order.


The Task Force is assigned to the Governor’s Office of Energy Innovation for administrative purposes.


Consistent with law and available appropriations, each designated state agency shall use existing personnel and monetary resources to comply with this Order.

Task Force members receive no compensation or other remuneration from the state for their service as members; however, members of the Task Force who are not state or federal employees are entitled to per diem and travel expenses in the same manner permitted for members of state boards and commissions under AS 39.20.180. Per diem and travel expenses for members of the Task Force who are a representative of a state or federal agency are the responsibility of that agency.

The Task Force may create advisory-only subcommittees.

The Task Force will meet monthly, at a minimum. Additional meetings may be called by the co-chairs. The Task Force and its subcommittees will use teleconferencing and other electronic means, to the extent practicable, in order to gain maximum public participation at minimum cost.

At times and locations to be determined by the co-chairs, the Task Force may convene public meetings to present information and receive comments.

Meetings of the Task Force and any subcommittee shall be conducted in accordance with AS 44.62.310 – 44.62.319 (Open Meetings Act).

Records of the Task Force and any subcommittee are subject to inspection and copying as public records under AS 40.25.100 – 40.25.295 (Alaska Public Records Act).


This Order takes effect immediately. The Task Force will sunset on October 31, 2023.

DATED this 23rd day of February, 2023.

Use the navigation menu below to filter Administrative Orders by Governor.