Skip to content

Administrative Order No. 118

Under the authority of AS 44.19.028, I, Steve Cowper, Governor of the State of Alaska, recognizing the need for the continuing assistance of the Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Commission (created by ch. 42, SLA 1989, following the March 24, 1989 oil discharge from the Exxon Valdez), order the following:


(a) There is established in the Department of Administration the Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Commission consisting of seven distinguished members appointed by the governor.

(b) The members must include

(1) five state residents with broad experience or expertise in one or more of the following areas: physical or biological science, oil transportation, fisheries, economics, sociology, or law; these members may not be federal or state employees or employees of a political subdivision of the state or be employees or independent contractors of any corporation directly involved in the Exxon Valdez oil spill disaster;

(2) two persons who are recognized nationally for their expertise in science, technology, or management and are not employees of a governmental entity.

(c) The commission members shall elect from among themselves a chair and vice-chair.

(d) The commission may hire staff it considers necessary to perform its duties, including legal counsel.

(e) Members of the commission serve without compensation, but are entitled to $150 a day while on commission business plus per diem and travel expenses authorized for boards and commissions under AS 39.20.180.

Sec. 2. DUTIES OF THE COMMISSION. The commission shall advise the governor and legislature in connection with oil spill legislation.

Sec. 3. EXPIRATION. This Order expires upon the adjournment of the second session of the Sixteenth Alaska State Legislature.

This Order takes effect February 15, 1990.

DATED at Juneau, Alaska, February 15, 1990.

By: S/S Steve Cowper
Steve Cowper
Governor of the State of Alaska

Use the navigation menu below to filter Administrative Orders by Governor.