Skip to content

Administrative Order No. 103

Under the authority of Article III of the Alaska Constitution, AS 44.17.060 and AS 44.19.145(c), I hereby establish in the Department of Environmental Conservation, the Alaska State Emergency Response Commission to serve as the state emergency response commission required by Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 or “SARA” (Pub.L. 99-4991 Oct. 17, 1986, 100 Stat. 1613).

Section 1. Duties The Commission shall

(a) recommend any necessary changes to the initial boundaries of emergency planning districts shown on the attached map of “emergency management regions”, in order to facilitate preparation and implementation of emergency plans, and using existing boundaries of political subdivisions if appropriate;

(b) coordinate the activities of local emergency planning committees in those districts;

(c) recommend procedures for receiving and processing requests from the public for information under sec. 324 of SARA including Tier II information under sec. 312 of SARA;

(d) perform other coordinating, advisory, or planning tasks at my request, relating to chemical emergency planning and preparedness, community right-to-know reporting, toxic chemical release reporting, or management of hazardous substances; and

(e) to the extent consistent with the Alaska Constitution and Alaska Statutes, perform all other functions prescribed for state emergency response commissions in SARA.

Section 2. Composition To the extent practicable, the Commission shall be comprised of individuals with expertise in the emergency response field. The Commission consists of the Commissioners of the Departments of Environmental Conservation, Military and Veterans Affairs, Health and Social Services, Public Safety, and Transportation and Public Facilities, Community and Regional Affairs, or their designees and seven public members I will appoint.

Section 3. Officers and Terms The Commissioner of Environmental Conservation or the commissioner’s designee shall chair the Commission. The Commissioner of Military and Veterans Affairs or the commissioner’s designee shall serve as a vice-chair. Members of the Commission other than those from the designated state departments shall serve at my pleasure for staggered terms of three years. Members of the Commission shall serve without compensation but are entitled to per diem and travel as authorized by law for members of boards and commissions.

Section 4. Agency Cooperation The Commission may request data, reports, or other information from any state agency. To the extent feasible, every state agency shall cooperate with the Commission and furnish it with the information and assistance necessary to accomplish the purpose of SARA and of this Administrative Order.

Section 5. Planning Boundaries Boundaries for local planning districts shall be the regions designated by the Division of Emergency Services for emergency preparedness planning until otherwise designated by the Commission.

This Order takes effect on October 21, 1987

DATED at Juneau, Alaska, this 21st day of October, 1987

By: S/S Steve Cowper           
Steve Cowper
Governor of the State of Alaska 

Planning Boundaries (Map)

Use the navigation menu below to filter Administrative Orders by Governor.