Skip to content

Governor Dunleavy Appoints AMHS Working Group Members

Feb 19, 2020

Governor Mike Dunleavy today announced the names of nine Alaskans who will serve on the Alaska Marine Highway Reshaping Work Group. The work group is tasked with providing recommendations on the future finances and services levels of the Alaska Marine Highway System (AMHS) to the Governor, using data from the AMHS Reshaping Study.

“We begin today the process of restructuring the Alaska Marine Highway System for the 21st century,” said Governor Dunleavy. “The challenges facing the ferry system date back several decades and solutions will require patience and compromise from all stakeholders. I want to thank the nine Alaskans who have stepped up to volunteer their time, knowledge, and wisdom to assist my administration and our fellow Alaskans that count on the system for transportation in our coastal communities.”

“The AMHS Work Group is comprised of nine incredible Alaskans with unique experience and vast knowledge. Each member brings their own perspective, and I am confident this strong group will produce balanced recommendations,” said John MacKinnon, Commissioner of the Alaska Department of Transportation & Public Facilities. “Their focus will be to deliver guidance regarding finance and service levels so the system is sustainable in the future. I thank them for volunteering for this important task.”

The nine members of the reshaping work group are:

Public: Tom Barrett (Chair)
Public: John Torgerson
Public: Wanetta Ayers
Aviation: Lee Ryan
Labor: Ben Goldrich
MTAB: Robert Venables
Roads & Highways: Tony Johansen
Senator Bert Stedman
Representative Louise Stutes

Admiral Tom Barrett, United States Coast Guard (Ret.) will serve as the Work Group’s Chairperson. Mr. Barrett most recently retired as president of the Alyeska Pipeline Service Company, and also served as Deputy Secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation.

The Work Group’s final report is due on or before September 30, 2020 with implementation beginning in Fiscal Year 2023.