Skip to content

Board: Statewide Broadband Advisory Board

Board identification number: 532


Authority: CHAPTER 52 SLA 22 (Sec. 44.33.920) (a-f)

Status: Active

Sunset date: January 23, 2026

Requirements: No Legislative Confirmation or Financial Disclosure required

Prohibitions: None

Term: 3 years

Chair: Members of the advisory board shall elect a chair from among the members listed in or appointed under (c)(1),(2), or (4) of this section.

Description: The Statewide Broadband Advisory Board is established. The Advisory Board is composed of: The Commissioner of Education & Early Development or designee; The Commissioner of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development or designee; Two members from the legislature, serving as ex officio nonvoting members, one of whom shall be appointed by the president of the senate and one by the speaker of the house of representatives, and 11 additional members, at least two of whom live in an unserved or underserved area, appointed by the governor to three-year terms. These members will represent: a local government; Alaska Native Corporation; a tribal government; a school district; the University of Alaska; the healthcare community; business community; the broadband community; a broadband consumer; rural energy systems; and a technology neutral consultant.

Function: The purpose of the advisory board is to provide technology-neutral input, recommendations, and advice regarding: state broadband policy, goals, and objectives; project proposal processes and criteria for project selection; mapping and data collection and sharing efforts; and progress made on the recommendations of the Governor’s Task Force on Broadband established under Administrative Order No. 322.

Special facts: The advisory board shall establish a broadband technical working group to provide technical recommendations to the advisory board. The advisory board shall appoint individuals to the broadband technical working group who collectively have expertise in the different technologies that provide broadband service in the state who manage and deliver projects in the state. the broadband technical working group is composed of eight members appointed by the advisory board to three-year terms as follows: one member who is a mechanical engineer; one member who is a civil engineer; one member who is an aerospace engineer; one member who has expertise in fiber optics; one member who has expertise in satellite technology; one member who has expertise in microwave technology; and the advisory board broadband industry representative.

Compensation: Members of the board and the broadband technical working group are not entitled to compensation


For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Anessa Feero
Administrative Specialist

Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: (907) 269-8406

Board Roster