Skip to content

Board: Controlled Substances Advisory Committee

Board identification number: 272

Department: LAW

Authority: AS 11.71.100

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: No Legislative Confirmation or Financial Disclosure required

Prohibitions: None

Term: 4 years

Chair: The president of the Board of Pharmacy or the president’s designee is the chair of the committee

Description: The committee consists of 9 members: the Attorney General or the Attorney General’s designee; the Commissioner of Health and Social Services or the Commissioner’s designee; the Commissioner of Public Safety or the Commissioner’s designee; the President of the Board of Pharmacy or the designee of the President who shall also be a member of the Board of Pharmacy; a peace officer appointed by the Governor after consultation with the Alaska Association of Chiefs of Police; a physician appointed by the Governor; a psychiatrist appointed by the Governor; and two individuals appointed by the Governor.

Function: To evaluate the effectiveness of current programs, budget and appropriations, enforcement policies and procedures, treatment, counseling, and regulations regarding controlled substances and to further make recommendations to the Governor, Alaska Court System and Legislature based upon their findings.

Special facts: Five members of the committee constitute a quorum, except that a smaller number may adjourn a meeting in the absence of a quorum.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem

Meetings: To be held at the call of the chairman, and are required to meet at least twice a year.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Katholyn Runnels
Assistant Attorney General
310 K Street, Suite 601

Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-6250

Board Roster