Skip to content

Board: Aviation Advisory Board

Board identification number: 211


Authority: AS 44.42.200

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: No Legislative Confirmation or Financial Disclosure required

Prohibitions: None

Term: 3 years

Chair: Governor or board at his request

Description: The board consists of eleven members appointed by the governor. 1 member of a statewide trade association of air carriers serving rural and international airports; 1 member representing statewide organization of pilots, aircraft owners, and other aviation supporters, organized to promote noncommercial aviation; 1 member who represents air carriers signatory to the Alaska international airport system operating agreement; 1 member who owns or is employed by a regional air carrier; 1 community leader residing in the unorganized borough of the state; 1 representative of the mayor of the Municipality of Anchorage; 1 member who jointly represents the mayors of the City of Fairbanks and the Fairbanks North Star Borough; 1 member representative of the non-airline tenants of the Alaska International Airport System; 1 representative of exclusively air cargo business; and 2 members representing other interests the governor determines appropriate to advise on aviation. For geographical balance at least one member shall be from each of the four judicial districts.

Function: The purpose of the board is to advise and provide recommendations to the commissioner of the Department of Transportation and Public Facilities on public policy related to the department’s exercise of its aviation functions assigned by law. Before filling, on a permanent basis, the position of chief administrative officer of the Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport or the Fairbanks International Airport, the commissioner shall consult with the board concerning candidates to fill the position.

Special facts: Members of the board serve at the pleasure of the Governor.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem SOA employees are not entitled to per diem

Meetings: Quarterly (4 times per year), and at the call of the chair if needed.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
John Binder
Deputy Commissioner of Aviation
Department of Transportation & Public Facilities
P.O. Box 196900
Anchorage, AK 99519-6900
Phone: (907) 269-0730
Fax: (907) 269-0489

Board Roster