Skip to content

Board: Alaska Seismic Hazards Safety Commission

Board identification number: 208


Authority: AS 44.37.065; AS 44.66.010

Status: Active

Sunset date: June 30, 2028

Requirements: No Legislative Confirmation or Financial Disclosure required

Prohibitions: None

Term: 3 years

Chair: Commission elects

Description: The board consists of 11 members appointed by the Governor for 3-year terms each. Members include: A representative from the University of Alaska, Three representatives, each from a local government in a separate seismically active region of the state; a representative from the Department of Natural Resources; a representative of the Department of Military and Veterans’ Affairs; a representative from an appropriate federal agency; a representative of the insurance industry; and 3 members of the public who are expert in the fields of geology, seismology, hydrology, geotechnical engineering, structural engineering, emergency services, or planning. Six members constitute a quorum.

Function: The commission shall recommend goals and priorities for seismic hazard mitigation to the public and private sectors; recommend policies to the Governor and Legislature, including needed research, mapping, and monitoring programs; offer advice on coordinating disaster preparedness and seismic hazard mitigation activities of government at all levels, review the practices for recovery and reconstruction after a major earthquake, and recommend improvements to mitigate losses from similar future events; gather analyze and disseminate information on seismic hazard mitigation; establish and maintain necessary working relationships with public and private agencies; review predictions and warnings issued by the federal government and appropriate organizations and suggest appropriate responses; review proposed seismic hazard notifications and information from state agencies and evaluate possible socioeconomic consequences and recommend that the Governor issue formal seismic hazard notifications when appropriate and advise state and local agencies of appropriate responses.

Special facts: A vacancy is filled for the unexpired term.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem

Meetings: Generally once per month, less often in the summer. Usually the first Thursday of the month from 9 a.m. to noon.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Joshua Hyde
Administrative Assistant 1
Geological and Geophysical Surveys
3354 College Road
Fairbanks, AK 997093707
Phone: (907)451-5010

Board Roster