Skip to content

Board: Alaska Boating Safety Advisory Council

Board identification number: 203


Authority: AS 05.25.057

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: No Legislative Confirmation or Financial Disclosure required

Prohibitions: None

Term: 3 years

Chair: Council selects.

Description: The council consists of 7 members appointed by the Governor: each member shall be appointed on the basis of interest in public affairs, knowledge of boating issues as they relate to both safety and water of the state, and good judgement and ability concerning boating safety. The appointed members shall represent boat owner interests, including owners of boats powered by engines and owners of boats that are paddled, poled, rowed, or powered by wind, shall be residents of the state, and shall be appointed without regard to political affiliation or geographical location of residence. The commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources is not a member of the council but shall be ex officio secretary.

Function: The purpose of the council is to recommend to the department boating safety educational materials; review and make recommendations on proposed boating regulations; consider regional boating safety needs and promote boating safety education programs throughout the state; and advise the department on state, regional, and national boating issues.

Special facts:

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem

Meetings: No more than two times per calendar year, usually in April and December for one day each.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Joe McCullough
Program Coordinator
DNR; Alaska State Parks; Office of Boating Safety
550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1380
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: (907) 269-8704
Fax: (907) 269-8907

Board Roster