Skip to content

Board: Board of Certified Direct-Entry Midwives

Board identification number: 172


Authority: AS 08.65.010; AS 08.01.010; AS 08.03.010

Status: Active

Sunset date: June 30, 2021

Requirements: Legislative Confirmation

Prohibitions: Members of the board cannot serve more than two full consecutive terms. Public members cannot be engaged in, have a legal contract with a member of, or have a direct financial interest in the occupation that the board regulates.

Term: 4 years

Chair: Governor may select.

Description: The board consists of 5 members appointed by the Governor: 2 certified direct-entry midwives; 1 physician (licensed by the State Medical Board) who has an obstetrical practice or has specialized training in obstetrics; 1 certified nurse midwife (licensed by the Board of Nursing); 1 public member.

Function: The board regulates the policies and procedures for the practice of direct-entry midwifery in Alaska; controls applications, licenses, and appeals in the direct-entry midwifery profession.

Special facts: Members of the board serve at the pleasure of the Governor. Members serve until a successor is appointed and qualified.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem

Meetings: 2 times per year (spring and fall) for 2 days each.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Lacey Derr
Records and Licensing Supervisor
Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
DCED, P.O. Box 110806 M/S 0806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Phone: (907) 465-2694
Fax: (907) 465-2974

Board Roster