Skip to content

Board: North Pacific Fishery Management Council

Board identification number: 132


Authority: Magnuson Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act (16 USC 1852 M-S Act 302)

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: No Legislative Confirmation or Financial Disclosure required

Prohibitions: None

Term: 3 years

Chair: Council selects.

Description: There are eight Regional Fishery Management Councils: New England, Mid-Atlantic, South Atlantic, Caribbean, Gulf of Mexico, Pacific, North Pacific, and Western Pacific. Alaska is involved in the North Pacific region. The Governor of the State of Alaska makes nominations for 5 voting positions held by Alaskans; and the Governor of the State of Washington makes nominations for 2 voting positions held by Washingtonians. See membership list for further information.

Function: The council is responsible for managing federal fisheries inside the United States two hundred mile zone.

Special facts: Governors’ nominations must be submitted to the U.S. Secretary of Commerce by March 15 each year, and the U.S. Secretary of Commerce must announce each appointment by June 27. Each Governor submits three qualified individuals for each applicable vacancy, giving special attention to qualified women and minority candidates, representation by consumer advocates, conservation groups, as well as other appropriate interests. Nominees must be knowledgeable and experienced with regard to conservation and management, or the recreational or commercial harvest of the fishery resources of Alaska.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem Non-governmental members receive additional compensation.

Meetings: 5 council meetings per year (every other month for a week to 10 days), plus committee meetings.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
David Witherell
Executive Director
North Pacific Fishery Management Council
605 W. 4th, Suite 306
Anchorage, AK 995012252
Phone: (907) 271-2809

Board Roster