Skip to content

Board: Alaska Safety Advisory Council

Board identification number: 094

Department: LABOR

Authority: AS 18.60.830

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: No Legislative Confirmation or Financial Disclosure required

Prohibitions: None

Term: 2 years

Chair: Council selects.

Description: The council consists of 14 members – 13 appointed by Governor: 5 representing industry and 4 representing labor with consideration of geographic representation and population distribution, 1 federal, 1 state, and 1 local government representative, and 1 public member; all of whom may be reappointed. Members serve at the pleasure of Governor. The Commissioner of the Department of Labor or their designee serves as Executive Secretary. The council elects chair.

Function: The council works with organizations to promote safety so that resources can be marshaled and used to reduce menace of accidental death and injury.

Special facts: Members serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The council makes recommendations to the Governor and Legislature on state policy and program for safety and health of Alaskans. The Council may charge a fee for attendance at the Annual Governor’s Safety Conference to cover associated costs.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem

Meetings: Usually one meeting per year for one day in March during the Annual Governor’s safety conference.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Lisa Shrestha
Administrative Assistant III
Labor & Workforce Development
PO Box 111149
Juneau, AK 998111149
Phone: (907) 465-3303
Fax: (907) 465-3584

Board Roster