Skip to content

Board: Board of Directors of the Alaska Railroad Corporation

Board identification number: 088


Authority: AS 42.40.010; AS 39.50.200

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: Financial Disclosure

Prohibitions: Board members may not have a conflict of interest as outlined in AS 42.40.230. Members, except Commissioner and bargaining unit representative, may not be state officers or employees.

Term: 5 years

Chair: Board selects.

Description: The board consists of 7 members – 5 appointed by the Governor with at least the following: 1 member with 10 years of experience in railroad management (who may be a non-resident); 1 member who is/was an executive official of a railroad as required under federal regulation (who may be a non-resident); 1 member with 5 years experience as owner/manager of a business in Alaska; 1 member from the bargaining unit representing employees of the corporation; plus the Commissioners of the Departments of Commerce, Community and Economic Development and Transportation and Public Facilities. Judicial districts which are directly served by the Alaska Railroad must be represented; Board elects chairman and vice-chairman and appoints a secretary.

Function: Manages the Alaska Railroad Corporation and its assets.

Special facts: The board delivers an annual report to the Governor and the Legislature. A quorum consists of at least 4 voting members. A fidelity bond is required for board members and executive officers responsible for accounts and finances. Members serve at pleasure of Governor. Legislative Confirmation for members is required by statute but is not permissible under the Constitution.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem Receive honorarium of $400 per day.

Meetings: At least once every three months.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Jennifer Mergens
Chief Human Resources Officer
Alaska Railroad Corporation
P.O. Box 107500
Anchorage, AK 99510
Phone: (907) 265-2305
Fax: (907) 265-2312

Board Roster