Skip to content

Board: Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education

Board identification number: 082


Authority: AS 14.42.015; AS 39.50.200

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: Financial Disclosure

Prohibitions: No governing body member, trustee, or employee of post-secondary or higher education institution may serve as a public member.

Term: 4 years

Chair: Commission selects. 1 year term; cannot serve more than 2 consecutive terms

Description: The board consists of 14 members, 7 appointed by Governor, including: 4 members of the public, 1 from local community college advisory councils, 1 administrator from a proprietary institution of postsecondary education, and 1 full-time postsecondary student from nominees (by election). In addition, the commission includes 7 members with following representation: 2 Board of Regents members, 1 non-profit higher education representative; 1 Dept. of Education and Early Development selected by the State Board of Education, 1 Alaska Workforce Investment Board member, 1 legislative member appointed by President of Senate, and 1 legislative member appointed by Speaker of the House. Members serve at pleasure of appointing authority and elect their chair.

Function: The commission has the following functions, advisory to the governing boards of institutions of public and private higher education in this state, to the governor, the legislature, and to other appropriate state and federal officials: (1) coordinate the development of comprehensive plans for the orderly, systematic growth of public and private postsecondary education, including community colleges and occupational education, in the state and submit recommendations on the need for, and location of, new facilities and programs; (2) review and advise as to the efficiency and effectiveness of all consortia and other cooperative agreements between the institutions of public and private higher education in the state that are parties to them.

Special facts: A quorum consists of a majority. Members serve a 4 year term except the student commissioner who serves a 2 year term. Legislative Confirmation for members is required by statute but is not permissible under the Constitution.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem

Meetings: Quarterly, time/place determined by chair; 10 days minimum notice.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Dannielle Erickson
Executive Secretary
Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 110505
Juneau, AK 998110505
Phone: (907) 465-6718
Fax: (907) 465-3293

Board Roster