Skip to content

Board: Alaska Police Standards Council

Board identification number: 081


Authority: AS 18.65.140

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: Legislative Confirmation

Prohibitions: None

Term: 4 years

Chair: Board selects.

Description: The council consists of 13 members: 11 appointed by the governor as follows: 4 chief administrative officers or chiefs of police of local governments; the commissioner of public safety or a designee; the commissioner of corrections or a designee; 2 persons, each of who has been certified for 5 years or more by the council under this chapter, one of whom serves as a police officer and one of whom serves as a probation officer, parole officer, municipal correctional officer, or correctional officer; 1 correctional administrative officer who is employed at the level of deputy director or higher; and, 4 members of the public at large with at least 2 from the communities of 2,500 population or less.

Function: The council establishes and enforces minimum standards for employment, certification, training and retention of police, correctional, probation, parole and municipal correctional officers; adopts regulations; investigates potential misconduct issues related to potential decertification of officers.

Special facts: A member may not serve beyond the time the member holds the office that established eligibility for appointment.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem No additional compensation.

Meetings: Normally 2 times per year for one day each – December and May or June, additional special meetings as required.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Joseph Gamache
Executive Director
Alaska Police Standards Council
DPS, P.O. Box 111200 M/S 1200
Juneau, AK 99811-1200
Phone: (907) 465-5523
Fax: (907) 465-3263

Board Roster