Skip to content

Board: State Board of Parole

Board identification number: 075


Authority: AS 33.16.020; AS 44.66.010; AS 39.50.200

Status: Active

Sunset date: June 30, 2020

Requirements: Legislative Confirmation and Financial Disclosure

Prohibitions: Members may not be an officer or employee of the state.

Term: 5 years

Chair: Governor appoints.

Description: The board consists of 5 members appointed by the Governor: appointments are made with due regard for representation of the ethnic, racial, gender and cultural populations of the state: 1 member who resides in the first judicial district, 1 in the third judicial district, and 1 member who resides in either the second or fourth judicial districts; at least 1 appointee must have experience in the field of criminal justice. The Governor appoints the chair.

Function: Through hearings, the board authorizes discretionary parole releases, establishes conditions of parole, issues arrest warrants, and revokes parole for cause. The board also conducts clemency investigations.

Special facts: The board is adjudicatory in nature. A quorum consists of 3 members.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem Receive honorarium of $250 per day.

Meetings: Approximately 150 days per year.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Jeffrey Edwards
Executive Director
State Board of Parole
550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1860
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: (907) 269-4643
Fax: (907) 269-4697

Board Roster