Skip to content

Board: Alaska Minerals Commission

Board identification number: 065


Authority: AS 44.33.431; Section 2, Chapter 34, SLA 2013

Status: Active

Sunset date: February 1, 2024

Requirements: No Legislative Confirmation or Financial Disclosure required

Prohibitions: A member who has served all or part of 2 successive terms on the commission may not be reappointed to the commission unless 3 years have elapsed since the person has last served on the commission.

Term: 3 years

Chair: elected by commission

Description: The commission consists of 11 members who have at least five years experience in the various aspects of the state’s mineral industries: 5 members appointed by the Governor (1 of whom must reside in a rural community); 3 members appointed by the President of the Senate; 3 members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Function: The commission shall make recommendations to the Governor and to the Legislature on ways to mitigate the constraints, including governmental constraints, on development of minerals, including coal, in the state. The commission shall report its recommendations each year to the governor during the first 10 days of the regular session of the legislature. The commission shall notify the legislature that the report is available.

Special facts: Each member serves at pleasure of appointing authority.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem

Meetings: As called by chair; Generally meets twice in the fall.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Robert Pearson
Local Government Specialist V
Office of Economic Development
DCCED, 550 W 7th Avenue, Suite 1770
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-4048

Board Roster