Skip to content

Board: Alaska State Emergency Response Commission

Board identification number: 032


Authority: AS 26.23.071; PL 99-499

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: No Legislative Confirmation or Financial Disclosure required

Prohibitions: None

Term: 3 years


Description: The commission consists of 16 members: Commissioners of Community and Economic Development, Environmental Conservation, Fish and Game, Health and Social Services, Labor, Natural Resources, Public Safety, and Transportation and Public Facilities, or the designees of the Commissioners, the Adjutant General of the Department of Military and Veterans’ Affairs or a designee. In addition, seven members of the public are appointed by the Governor: two must be members of a local emergency planning committee for an emergency planning district that is predominantly rural in character; two must be members of a local emergency planning committee for an emergency planning district that is predominantly urban in character; two must be members of the governing body of, or the mayor of, a political subdivision that has a local emergency planning committee or a person who, in the opinion of the Governor, is otherwise appropriate to represent the political subdivision; and one seat is for an undesignated public member. To the extent practicable, the commission must include members with expertise in the emergency response field. The U.S. Department of Defense-Alaska Command, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, and the U.S. Coast Guard may each appoint a representative to serve in an ex-officio, nonvoting capacity.

Function: The commission fulfills the state commission requirements as described in Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (42 U.S.C. 11001 – 11005). Commission facilitates the preparation and implementation of all emergency plans prepared by state agencies, the statewide, interjurisdictional, and local plans prepared under AS 26.23, and the state and regional plans prepared under AS 46.04; designates boundaries of emergency planning districts; establishes local planning committees for each district.

Special facts: Members appointed by the Governor serve at the pleasure of the Governor.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem No additional compensation.

Meetings: 3 times per year.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Roy English
Emergency Management Specialist II
Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Mgmt.
PO Box 5750
JBER, AK 99505
Phone: (907) 428-7042

Board Roster