Skip to content

Board: Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services

Board identification number: 031


Authority: AS 18.08.020

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: No Legislative Confirmation or Financial Disclosure required

Prohibitions: None

Term: 4 years

Chair: No provisions.

Description: The council consists of 11 members appointed by Governor: 3 consumers of emergency medical services who each reside in a different judicial district; 2 physicians with experience in emergency medicine or trauma care; 1 registered nurse with experience in emergency nursing; 3 prehospital emergency care providers, at least 1 of whom resides in a community that is not connected by land or marine highway, or a combination of land and marine highway, to a community in which a hospital is located; 1 emergency medical services administrator; 1 administrator of a hospital or Native health care organization. 6 non-voting liaison representatives authorized by council bylaws.

Function: The council advises the Commissioner of Health and Social Services and the Governor on planning/implementation of emergency medical services system.

Special facts: A majority of members constitute a quorum. The council liaison representative membership is set up by council bylaws.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem No additional compensation.

Meetings: Not less than twice a year (usually spring in JNU and fall in ANC); 2 meetings and 2 teleconferences per year; 8 days maximum.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Todd McDowell
Emergency Medical Services Officer I

DHSS, P.O. Box 110616
Juneau, AK 99811-0616
Phone: (907) 465-8634
Fax: (907) 465-4101

Board Roster