Skip to content

Board: Board of Education and Early Development

Board identification number: 029


Authority: AS 14.07.075; AS 14.35.020; AS 39.50.200

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: Legislative Confirmation and Financial Disclosure

Prohibitions: No member may be a candidate for partisan political office while serving on the board. No more than 4 shall be of the same political party as the Governor.

Term: 5 years

Chair: Board selects.

Description: The board consists of 7 members appointed by governor, with consideration of recommendations made by recognized educational associations in the state. 1 member represents each judicial district; 3 members are at-large, and at least 1 member represents regional educational attendance areas. The board designates the chair. Members serve at pleasure of the Governor. (Non-voting advisory members include: a student representative nominated by the Board of Directors of the Alaska Association of Student Governments and selected by the board and a military representative nominated by the ranking General of the Alaska Command and selected by the board. See 4 AAC 03.025 for more information). The student representative serving on the board serves a 1 year term beginning July 1 and expiring June 30.

Function: The board regulates public elementary and secondary education in Alaska, and regulates the state library, museums and archives. The board also appoints the Commissioner of Education & Early Development with the governor’s approval, and approves the department’s budget. Additionally, the board establishes statewide goals for education and requires each school district governing body to adopt goals and serves as governing body for Mt. Edgecumbe High School. The board may adopt bylaws for the management of the department.

Special facts: A quorum consists of 4 members, who serve at the pleasure of the governor.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem No additional compensation.

Meetings: At least quarterly in Juneau unless majority of board members changes site; usually 6-8 mtgs/year.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Janell Andrews
Executive Secretary
Office of the Commissioner
P.O. Box 110500
Juneau, AK 998110500
Phone: (907) 465-2802

Board Roster