Skip to content

Board: Board of Chiropractic Examiners

Board identification number: 016


Authority: AS 08.20.010; AS 08.01.010; AS 08.03.010

Status: Active

Sunset date: June 30, 2022

Requirements: Legislative Confirmation

Prohibitions: Members of the board cannot serve more than all or part of two consecutive terms. A member who has served all or part of two successive terms may not be reappointed unless four years have elapsed since the person last served. Public members cannot be engaged in, have a legal contract with a member of, or have a direct financial interest in the occupation that the board regulates.

Term: 4 years

Chair: Board selects; Elected every 2 years.

Description: The board consists of 5 members appointed by Governor: 4 licensed chiropractic physicians who have practiced chiropractic care in this state not less than 2 years and 1 public member with no direct financial interest in the health care industry.

Function: The board regulates and controls applications, licenses, and permits of the chiropractic profession.

Special facts: A quorum consists of a majority of members. Members serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The board selects officers every two years. An appointment to fill a vacancy is for the remainder of the unexpired term.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem No additional compensation.

Meetings: At least 2 meetings per year.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Joe Bonnell
Records and Licensing Supervisor
Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
DCCED, P.O. Box 110806 M/S 0800
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Phone: (907) 465-2588
Fax: (907) 465-2974

Board Roster