Skip to content

Board: Alaska Public Broadcasting Commission

Board identification number: 014


Authority: AS 44.21.256; AS 39.50.200

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: Financial Disclosure

Prohibitions: None

Term: 5 years

Chair: Commission selects for one year term.

Description: 9 members appointed by Governor: without regard to political affiliation, and with consideration to representation from such fields as higher education, elementary and secondary education, communications, commercial broadcasting, public health, public works, labor, commerce, and the professions.

Function: Encourages and supervises development of integrated state public broadcasting system; recommends grant funding.

Special facts: Members of the commission may be removed only for cause; commission elects chair for one year terms (may be re-elected); annually updates long term plan for development of public broadcasting stations and systems to Governor and Legislature.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem No additional compensation.

Meetings: 4-6 times per year (generally quarterly); 15 days maximum.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Dave Donley
Deputy Commissioner, Department of Administration
550 W 7th Ave, Ste 1970

Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-6293

Board Roster