Skip to content

Board: Alcoholic Beverage Control Board

Board identification number: 003


Authority: AS 04.06.010; AS 44.66.010; AS 39.50.200

Status: Active

Sunset date: June 30, 2022

Requirements: Legislative Confirmation and Financial Disclosure

Prohibitions: No member may hold any other state or federal office, either elective or appointive. Not more than two members may be engaged in the same business, occupation, or profession. Board selects chair. Vacancies to be filled within 30 days. Governor also appoints Director.

Term: 3 years

Chair: Board selects chair.

Description: The board is comprised of five members appointed by Governor: two from alcoholic beverage industry, but not wholesalers; three members representing the general public, at least one of whom resides in a rural area (not connected by road or rail to Anchorage or Fairbanks and has a population of 7,000 or less; or has a population of 2,000 or less that is connected by road or rail to Anchorage or Fairbanks).

Function: The board controls manufacture, barter, possession, and sale of alcoholic beverages in the state.

Special facts: The board is considered a regulatory and quasi-judicial agency. A quorum consists of 3 members, and a majority of whole membership must approve applications, renewals, transfers, etc. Members serve at the pleasure of the Governor. A member may not serve more than 3 successive terms. A member is eligible for reappointment only after 3 years have lapsed.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem No additional compensation.

Meetings: 5-8 meetings/year-9-12 days maximum; at least once/year in each judicial district. Usually February or March in Juneau, May in Anchorage, July in Fairbanks, September in Nome, and December in Anchorage. Call of chair.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Glen Klinkhart
Executive Director
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1600
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: (907) 269-0351
Fax: (907) 269-0351

Board Roster