Skip to content

Board: Board of Pharmacy

Board identification number: 078


Authority: AS 08.80.010; AS 08.01.010; AS 08.03.010

Status: Active

Sunset date: June 30, 2028

Requirements: Legislative Confirmation

Prohibitions: A member who has served all or part of two successive terms may not be reappointed unless four years have elapsed since the person last served. Public members cannot be engaged in, have a legal contract with a member of, or have a direct financial interest in the occupation that the board regulates.

Term: 4 years

Chair: Governor may select.

Description: The board consists of 7 members appointed by Governor: 5 licensed pharmacists actively engaged in practice in Alaska for 3 years immediately preceding appointment; 2 public members with no direct financial interest in health care industry; when possible, one member should represent each judicial district; members elect president. Terms of public members shall be staggered so that they do not expire at the same time.

Function: Protects the public health, safety and welfare (AS. 08.08.005). Controls registration, disciplinary sanctions, and provides for the regulation of controlled substances.

Special facts: Members serve at the pleasure of the Governor. A quorum consists of 4 members (3 when examining applications for registration). The board regularly reports to the Legislature. Members may be removed for cause. Members serve until a successor is appointed. An appointment to fill a vacancy is for the remainder of the unexpired term. The board has the powers necessary for implementation and enforcement of this chapter, including establish and maintain a controlled substance prescription database provided in AS 17.30.200. Officers serve 1 year and may not serve more than 4 consecutive full terms in a specific office.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem

Meetings: 4 times per year, for a total of 8 days. Generally, meetings aren’t held in the summer, but ocassionaly are held in August.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Michael Bowles
Executive Administrator
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing

Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Phone: (907) 465-1073
Fax: (907) 465-2974

Board Roster