Skip to content

First Lady Opens Nomination Period for 2020 Volunteer Awards

Jan 31, 2020

January 31, 2020 (Juneau, AK) – Alaska First Lady Rose Dunleavy will open the nomination period for the 2020 First Lady’s Volunteer Awards tomorrow, February 1, 2020. The annual awards, started in 1975 by First Lady Bella Hammond, recognize and pay tribute to exceptional volunteers who have made an extraordinary contribution within our communities and state.

“It is a special honor for me to present these awards to individuals who are selfless, caring, and make positive impacts on the lives of other Alaskans and our communities. Exceptional volunteers are not those who seek recognition, but rather those who put in the hard work with a giving heart,” said First Lady Rose Dunleavy. “The First Lady Volunteer Awards shines a light on these special Alaskans. Each one of the nominees has an inspirational story to tell, and I look forward to sharing those stories with all Alaskans when the recipients are announced this spring.”

Nominations for outstanding volunteers will be accepted beginning tomorrow, February 1, through March 1, 2020. Nominations can be submitted online or by using hard copies that are available for pick up at the Governor’s offices in Anchorage, Juneau, Fairbanks, and Palmer.

The First Lady’s Volunteer Awards ceremony and luncheon will be held at the Governor’s residence in Juneau this spring.

Click here for more information.



Media contact: Lauren Giliam  (907)717-4057