Retail Businesses Attachment E Issued April 22, 2020 Effective April 24, 2020 Part of Phase 1

By: Governor Mike Dunleavy MV

Commissioner Adam Crum, Alaska Department of Health and Social Services Dr. Anne Zink Chief Medical Officer, State of Alaska

I. Applicability: This section applies to retail businesses interacting with the public only, and are not included in Attachment A: *Alaska Essential Services and Critical Infrastructure Order*.

II. Retail businesses may resume operations if they meet all of the following requirements:

a. Social Distancing:

- i. No more than 20 customers, or 25 percent maximum business occupancy as required by law (whichever is smaller) is permitted at any one time.
- ii. Social distance of at least six feet is maintained between non-household individuals.
- iii. Cloth face coverings shall be worn by all employees and patrons.
- iv. Only one adult per household per visit.
- v. Establish a COVID-19 Mitigation Plan addressing the practices and protocols to protect staff and the public.
- vi. Entryway signage notifying the public of the business's COVID-19 Mitigation Plan and stating clearly that any person with symptoms consistent with COVID-19 may not enter the premises.

b. Hygiene:

- i. Employer must provide hand washing capability or sanitizer.
- ii. Frequent hand washing by employees, and an adequate supply of soap, disinfectant, hand sanitizer, and paper towels must be available.
- iii. Employer must provide for hourly touch-point sanitization (e.g. workstations, equipment, screens, doorknobs, restrooms) throughout work site.

c. Staffing/Operations:

- i. Provide training for employees regarding these requirements and the business mitigation plan;
- ii. Conduct pre-shift screening, maintain staff screening log;
- iii. No employee displaying symptoms of COVID-19 will provide services to customers. Symptomatic or ill employees may not report to work;

Retail Businesses Attachment E Issued April 22, 2020 Effective April 24, 2020 Part of Phase 1

- iv. No person may work within 72 hours of exhibiting a fever;
- v. Employer must establish a plan for employees getting ill and a return-to-work plan following CDC guidance, which can be found online at: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/guidance-business-response.html.

d. <u>Cleaning and Disinfecting</u>:

- i. Cleaning and disinfecting must be conducted in compliance with CDC protocols weekly or, in lieu of performing the CDC cleaning and disinfecting, the retail business may shut down for a period of at least 72 consecutive hours per week to allow for natural deactivation of the virus, followed by site personnel performing a comprehensive disinfection of all common surfaces.
- ii. When an active employee is identified as being COVID-19 positive by testing, CDC cleaning and disinfecting must be performed as soon after the confirmation of a positive test as practical. In lieu of performing CDC cleaning and disinfecting, retail businesses may shut down for a period of at least 72 consecutive hours to allow for natural deactivation of the virus, followed by site personnel performing a comprehensive disinfection of all common surfaces.
- i. CDC protocols can be found online at:

 https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html.
 https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html.

II. Retail businesses are encouraged to follow best practices:

- a. Entryway, curbside, and home delivery.
- b. Telephone and online ordering for contactless pickup and delivery.
- c. Cashless and receiptless transactions.