Print PageEmail this PageShare this on TwitterShare on Facebook

Boards & Commissions Factsheets

Marine Transportation Advisory

Board: Marine Transportation Advisory Board (MTAB)

Board identification number: 213


Authority: AS 19.65.110

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: No Legislative Confirmation or Financial Disclosure required

Prohibitions: None

Term: 3 years

Description: The board consists of 12 members apppointed by the Governor. Each member must be a resident of the state. The board shall be composed of the following members: (1) one member who has a significant level of experience in the private sector or local government, specializing in financing or economic development or marketing, from each of the following districts: (A) northern Southeast Alaska, representing Haines, Juneau, Gustavus, and Skagway; (B) central Southeast Alaska, representing Petersburg, Sitka and Wrangell; (C) southeast Alaska, representing the cities of Angoon, Hoonah, Kake, Pelican, and Tenakee Springs; (D) the Prince William Sound and Kenai Peninsula areas, representing the cities of Cordova, Valdez, and Whittier, the City and Borough of Yakutat, and the communities of Chenega Bay and Tatitlek; (E) southwest Alaska, representing the cities of Akutan, Chignik, Cold Bay, False Pass, King Cove, Sand Point, and Unalaska, including Dutch Harbor; and (F) southcentral Alaska, representing the cities of Old Harbor, Kodiak, Port Lions, Ouzenkie, Seldovia, and Homer; (2) one marine captain or marine engineer who is not affiliated with the Alaska Marine Highway System; (3) one representative, who may be retired, of a recognized union that represents employees of the Alaska Marine Highway System; (4) one business owner who has experience interacting with the Alaska Marine Highway System; (5) one travel agent or tourism specialist familiar with various Alaska Marine Highway reservation systems available to the public; and (6) two members of the public at large. For members being appointed under (a)(2) - (6) of this section, there shall be at least one resident of the Ketchikan Gateway Borough and at least two members who are residents of areas not directly served by the Alaska Marine Highway System.

Function: After the commissioner of transportation has considered one or more candidates for the position of director or deputy commission of the Alaska marine highway system, the commissioner shall confer with the board regarding that candidate or those candidates before making an appointment to that position. The board may establish volunteer regional advisory committees. The board may issue reports and recommendations and shall, in cooperation with the department, prepare and submit to the department and the governor for review a strategic plan that includes the mission, core values, objectives, initiatives, and performance goals of the Alaska Marine Highway System.


Special facts: This board was originally created under Administrative Order 233 by Governor Palin. Members serve at the pleasure of the governor. In addition, a majority of the membership of the board may remove a member if that member misses more than two meetings in a calendar year and has not previously been excused. If a vacancy arises on the board, the Governor shall, within 30 days after the vacancy arises, appoint a person to serve the balance of the unexpired term. A person appointed to fill the balance of an unexpired term shall serve on the board from the date of appointment until the expiration of the term. The members of the board shall select a chair and vice-chair from among the members of the board each year. At least one meeting per year must be attended by the board members in person, but all other meetings may be conducted by teleconference.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem Standard travel and per diem for members who are not state or federal employees.

Meetings: Quarterly (4 times per year), and at the call of the chair if needed.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Nicole Gorle
Executive Secretary III
Alaska Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 112500 MS-2500
Juneau, AK 99811-2500
Phone: (907) 465-3905, FAX: (907) 465-3902

Marine Transportation Advisory Roster


We appreciate your interest in Boards and Commissions. For further information contact the Boards and Commissions staff at (907) 465-3500 or at

Office of Boards and Commissions

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1700

Anchorage, AK 99501

Phone: (907) 269-7450

Fax: (907) 269-7461



More Information