Print PageEmail this PageShare this on TwitterShare on Facebook

Boards & Commissions Factsheets


Board: Commission on Judicial Conduct

Board identification number: 052


Authority: AS 22.30.010

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: Legislative Confirmation and Financial Disclosure

Prohibitions: Members may not serve on the Judicial Council and the Commission on Judicial Conduct simultaneously.

Term: 4 years

Description: The commission consists of 9 members: 6 appointed by Governor - 3 public members who are not judges, retired judges, or members of the state Bar; 3 attorneys who have practiced law in Alaska for 10 years, from nominations provided by Bar Association. The 3 justices/judges are elected by the justices/judges of the state courts. Membership terminates if member ceases to hold position that qualified appointment.

Function: Reviews allegations against judges/justices and promotes compliance with codes of conduct for judges.

Chair: Commission selects.

Special facts: A quorum consists of a majority which must include 1 public member, 1 member of the Alaska Bar, and 1 judge member. The Court presents an annual budget to Legislature. The commission elects its chairman.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem.

Meetings: At least quarterly; 1-3 days each depending on caseload.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Ms. Marla Greenstein
Executive Director
510 L Street, Suite 585
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: (907) 272-1033, FAX: (907) 272-9309

Judicial Conduct Roster

Go to the Judicial Conduct Home page


We appreciate your interest in Boards and Commissions. For further information contact the Boards and Commissions staff at (907) 465-3500 or at

Office of Boards and Commissions

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1700

Anchorage, AK 99501

Phone: (907) 269-7450

Fax: (907) 269-7461



More Information