Print PageEmail this PageShare this on TwitterShare on Facebook

Boards & Commissions Factsheets


Board: Alaska Historical Commission

Board identification number: 045

Department: Department of Natural Resources

Authority: AS 41.35.300

Status: Active

Sunset date:

Requirements: No Legislative Confirmation or Financial Disclosure required

Prohibitions: None

Term: 3 years

Description: The board consists of 9 members: 7 appointed by Governor, including three persons with professionally relevant backgrounds appointed from the fields of history, architecture, and archeology, 1 representative of indigenous ethnic groups, 2 persons appointed from a list of recommended nominees, containing at least 4 names, submitted each year by the Alaska Historical Society, and 1 public member; the Lieutenant Governor; and the state liaison officer (Alaska State Historic Preservation Officer) appointed under 16 U.S.C. 470-470n (P.L. 89-665, National Historic Preservation Act of 1966.)

Function: Advises Governor and Legislature on matters related to Alaska's history and prehistory; oversees state historic preservation plan; surveys, evaluates, and catalogs printed prehistory/history materials; registers work in progress; identifies sources; coordinates production and publication of works to present Alaska's past; develops criteria for evaluation of monuments and historic sites; formulates and reviews surveys; approves recommendations to National Register; recommends historic preservation grant project for funding; determines names and changes names of geographic features; prepares dictionary of geographic names; state representatives for the U.S. Board on Geographic Names.

Chair: Selected by Commission

Special facts: A quorum consists of 5 members. The board elects vice-chair from among members at the first meeting of each year.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem.

Meetings: 2or 3 times per year (usually spring and fall for 2 to 3 days each); 16 days maximum.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Ms. Joan Antonson
Alaska Historical Commission
DNR, 550 W. 7th Ave., Suite 1310
Anchorage, AK 99501-3565
Phone: (907) 269-8714, FAX: (907) 269-8908

Historical Commission Roster

Go to the Historical Commission Home page


We appreciate your interest in Boards and Commissions. For further information contact the Boards and Commissions staff at (907) 465-3500 or at

Office of Boards and Commissions

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1700

Anchorage, AK 99501

Phone: (907) 269-7450

Fax: (907) 269-7461



More Information