Print PageEmail this PageShare this on TwitterShare on Facebook

Boards & Commissions Factsheets

Alcoholic Beverage Control

Board: Alcoholic Beverage Control Board

Board identification number: 003


Authority: AS 04.06.010

Status: Active

Sunset date: 6/30/2011

Requirements: Legislative Confirmation and Financial Disclosure

Prohibitions: No member may hold any other state or federal office, either elective or appointive. Not more than two members may be engaged in the same business, occupation, or profession. Board selects chair. Vacancies to be filled within 30 days. Governor also appoints Director.

Term: 3 years

Description: The board is comprised of five members appointed by Governor: two from alcoholic beverage industry, but not wholesalers; three members representing the general public, at least one of whom resides in a rural area (not connected by road or rail to Anchorage or Fairbanks, has population of 6,000 or less -- or has population over 6,000 and has participated in a local option election).

Function: The board controls manufacture, barter, possession, and sale of alcoholic beverages in the state.

Chair: Board selects chair.

Special facts: The board is considered a regulatory and quasi-judicial agency. A quorum consists of 3 members, and a majority of whole membership must approve applications, renewals, transfers, etc. Members serve at the pleasure of the Governor.

Compensation: Standard Travel and Per Diem No additional compensation.

Meetings: 5-8 meetings/year-9-12 days maximum; at least once/year in each judicial district. Usually February or March in Juneau, May in Anchorage, July in Fairbanks, September in Nome, and December in Anchorage. Call of chair.

For further information and to reach individual members, contact:
Cynthia Franklin
Division Director
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
2400 Viking Drive
Anchorage, AK 99507
Phone: (907) 269-0351, FAX: (907) 269-0351

Alcoholic Beverage Control Roster

Go to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Home page


We appreciate your interest in Boards and Commissions. For further information contact the Boards and Commissions staff at (907) 465-3500 or at

Office of Boards and Commissions

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1700

Anchorage, AK 99501

Phone: (907) 269-7450

Fax: (907) 269-7461



More Information